I am slowly going vegan…

Follow me on my journey while I share, learn and discover everything about being vegan.

Vegan Granola Bars

Posted by slowlygoingvegan on October 11, 2009

PA060516Yikes! It has been a while since my last post! I’ve been very busy in the past while! In my short hiatus, I have tried so many new vegan yums and I plan on sharing my experiences with you in the coming days.

So one of the yummy vegan things I made recently were vegan granola bars. Since deciding to go vegan, something that I have a hard time with is finding things to snack on that are healthy and vegan. This recipe solves this dilemma!

I found the recipe on the net. It was not originally a vegan recipe but I have “veganized” it :) These bars are delicious, and healthy.

I use as many organic ingredients as possible with all of my cooking and this recipe is just one variation. the possibilities are endless because you can add anything that you want to it! Coconut, cranberries, dried apricots, any nut, feel free to experiment! One things to note though, if you do add alot of dried fruit, you may need to reduce the amount of sugar and maple syrup. I’d love to hear your variations!

2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup raw sugar
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup ground flax
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 cup raisins
1/4 cup hemp seeds                                          
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
3/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup maple syrup
1 tablespoon ground flax seeds whisked into 3 tablespoons of water
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9 x 13 baking pan.

2. In large bowl, mix together the oats, sugar, wheat germ, flax, cinnamon, flour, raisins and salt. Make a well in the centre, pour in the maple syrup, flax mixture, oil and vanilla. Mix well. Pat the mixture evenly into the pan.

3. Bake for about 30 minutes. If you like chewy bars, reduce time by about 5 minutes. If you like crunchy bars, leave for the full 30 plus a few more minutes. Be sure to keep your eyes on the bars though, mine browned a bit too much around the edges during my first attempt.

4. Cut into squares (my preferred shape :)) or bars. Don’t wait too long after removing from the oven (especially if you like crunchy bars) or they will be too hard to cut properly and you will have one giant bar :)

One Response to “Vegan Granola Bars”

  1. Taymer said

    thanks for this. I have not eaten granola or the bars in a long time.. I need to source some Hemp seeds. Back home in Barbados you can find them everywhere but I have not seen these around. My husband and I will enjoy this hopefully this weekend. Yum

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

